As of January 21, 2019…

Bill Belichick entered the 2018 season tied for 3rd all-time with Tom Landry with 250 career regular-season wins, behind Don Shula (328) and George Halas (318). The opening-day win vs. Houston pushed him past Landry into sole possession of 3rd place. He went on to finish the regular season with a career total 261 wins.

He is just the 4th NFL head coach to reach 250 career regular-season victories. His 261 regular-season wins are the 3rd-most NFL regular season wins of all-time.

Including the postseason, he has now recorded 291 career wins, which is 3rd in NFL history. He owns a career winning percentage of .685, first in NFL history.

He has an overall record of 291-134, which is 157 games above the .500 mark. He joins Don Shula and George Halas as the only coaches with 100 more wins than losses.

His record of 291-134 is the best record of any NFL head coach who has coached over 40 games since 2001 (including the postseason).

He now has 225 career regular-season wins with the New England Patriots, the 4th-most regular-season wins with one team among NFL head coaches.

He won more regular-season games (123) and more games overall (136) during a 10-year stretch (2002-11) than any other coach in NFL history.

He has led the Patriots to 18 straight seasons with a winning record (2001-2018), 2nd all-time behind Tom Landry, whose Dallas Cowboys accomplished the feat 20 straight years from 1966-85.

He is the 1st head coach in NFL history to lead a team to 3 straight 500-point seasons (2010-2012) and 4 overall (2007-589, 2010-518, 2011-513, 2012-557). St. Louis was the only other team to have done it 3 times (1999-526, 2000-540, 2001-503).

He led the Patriots to a 16th consecutive season with at least 10 wins, tying the 49ers for the NFL record.

He holds the NFL-record for 16 straight 10-win seasons as head coach. George Seifert is 2nd with 8 (1989-96).

He owns the NFL record for 11-win seasons with 16. Don Shula is 2nd with 13.

His 16 division titles are the most by a head coach in NFL history. Don Shula and Tom Landry are 2nd with 13 titles.

He is the 1st NFL head coach to lead his team to 10 consecutive division titles. Paul Brown (1950-1955), Tom Landry (1966-1971), Bud Grant (1973-1978) and Chuck Noll (1974-1979) are tied for 2nd with 6 straight division titles.

He led his teams to 17 postseason berths, which is 3rd all-time among NFL head coaches.

In 2018, he secured a 1st-round playoff bye for the 9th consecutive season, an NFL record. This was the Patriots’ 13th playoff bye under head coach Bill Belichick. On Jan. 13, 2019 they hosted an AFC Divisional Playoff game for the 9th straight season, the most in NFL history. They are also the only team in the NFL that finished the 2018 season undefeated at home.

He has coached in a total of 41 postseason games, the most of any head coach in NFL history.

He reached his 13th conference championship game as a head coach in 2018 to extend his record for the most since the 1970 NFL merger.

The 2018 AFC Championship was his 9th conference championship, the most in NFL history during the Super Bowl era (since 1966).

He is one of 4 NFL head coaches to win 5 or more championships since the league began postseason play in 1933, but the only one to win 5 Super Bowls.

He has coached in 11 SuperBowls (8 as a head coach), the most appearances by any coach in NFL history. Super Bowl LIII will be his 12th.

He earned his NFL-record 21st postseason victory after the Patriots defeated the Colts in the AFC Championship Game on Jan. 18, 2015. He now has 30 postseason victories.

He has a postseason winning percentage of .732 (30-11), which is 2nd only to Vince Lombardi with .900 (9-1).

His 44 consecutive years as an NFL coach are 2nd in NFL history to the 45 by Dick LeBeau.

Laura London